In association with eon visual media

Official Media Partner of Hull City

Call us today 01482 358394

Cartwright Earns England U18s Call-Up

Cartwright Earns England U18s Call-Up

Hull City youngster Harvey Cartwright has earned a first-ever call up to the England U18s squad for the Young Lions' upcoming mini-tour of central Europe.

The goalkeeper is part of Ian Foster’s 21-man squad, and will join up with the rest of the squad for three matches in the space of six days, starting out against Poland on Friday 11th October when they meet at the Municipal Stadium in Opole.

From there, the group head south across and into Slovakia, where they will take on their hosts in Senec on Monday 14th October.

And their final leg sees them cross the border and the Danube into Austria, where they will be in action in Leobersdorf just south of Vienna.

Speaking to about the forthcoming fixtures, Foster - who took charge of his squad for the first time last month - said: "These three matches will be a really valuable experience for our players from a logistical point of view.

"The travelling, game turnaround and different types of opposition will be similar to when they go up the age groups and hopefully break into the senior team.

"We are playing two U19s side which will be an added challenge for the players. Our squad are getting into full-time football now so they are used to playing against older players but playing against older opposition at international level will be something new to them physically and mentally.

"We’ve said that talent ID is one of our biggest focuses this season and seeing as many players as possible in the England set-up, but we’re very happy with how this group did in the last camp and looking forward to working further with them during this window."

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Nathan Broome (Stoke City), Harvey Cartwright (Hull City), James Trafford (Manchester City).

Defenders: Matthew Bondswell (RB Leipzig) Jeriel Dorsett (Reading), Luke Matheson (Rochdale), Teden Mengi (Manchester United), Haydon Roberts (Brighton & Hove Albion), Nathan Wood (Middlesbrough).

Midfielders: Miguel Azeez (Arsenal), Nonso Madueke (PSV Eindhoven), Yunus Musah (Valencia), Cole Palmer (Manchester City), Dejan Tetek (Reading), Jensen Weir (Wigan Athletic), Morgan Rogers (Manchester City).

Forwards: Alexander Mighten (Nottingham Forest), Fabio Carvalho (Fulham), Joseph Gelhardt (Wigan Athletic), Sam Greenwood (Arsenal), Jeremy Sarmiento (Benfica).